UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Mexico

Mexico ranks seventh place worldwide in UNESCO sites.

Below are listed UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Mexico. The date when the site entered into the UNESCO is to the right.

Northern Mexico 

Whale Sanctuary of El Vizcaíno (1993)

Cave paintings of the Sierra de San Francisco (1993)

Historic Center of Zacatecas (1993)

Archaeological site of Paquimé (Casas Grandes) (1998)

Islands and Protected Areas of the Gulf of California (2005)

Camino Real de Tierra Adentro (2010)

El Pinacate Biosphere Reserve and Gran Desierto de Altar (2013)

Hydraulic system of the Padre Tembleque aqueduct (2015)

Revillagigedo Archipelago (2016)

Central Mexico

Historic Center of Mexico, Mexico City (1987)

Xochimilco (1987)

Pre-Hispanic city of Teotihuacán (1987)

Historic Center of Puebla (1987)

Historic city of Guanajuato and adjacent mines (1988)

Historic Center of Morelia (1991)

First monasteries of the sixteenth century on the slopes of the Popocatepetl (1994, 2021)

Area of archaeological monuments of Xochicalco (1999)

Franciscan Missions of the Sierra Gorda de Querétaro (2003)

House-Workshop of Luis Barragán (2004)

Landscape of agaves and old industrial facilities of Tequila (2006)

Central Campus of the University City of the National Autonomous University of Mexico (2007)

Monarch Butterfly Biosphere Reserve (2008)

Protective Villa of San Miguel el Grande and Sanctuary of Jesus Nazarene of Atotonilco (2008)

Zone of historical monuments of Querétaro (1996)

Hospicio Cabañas de Guadalajara (1997)

Southern Mexico

Historic Center of Oaxaca and Archaeological Zone of Monte Albán (1987)

Pre-Hispanic City and Palenque National Park (1987)

Sian Ka’an (1987)

Chichen-Itza (1988)

El Tajín (1992)

Uxmal (1996)

Historic fortified city of Campeche (1999)

Area of historical monuments of Tlacotalpán (1998)

Ancient Mayan City and protected tropical forests of Calakmul, Campeche (2002, 2014)

Tehuacán-Cuicatlán Valley – Habitat native to Mesoamerica (2018)

Prehistoric caves of Yagul and Mitla in the Central Valleys of Oaxaca (2010)